June Truths | Day 30

Hard times will come. But you know what else will always come? A sunrise and a sunset. – Cheryl Strayed

Journal Entry

I think the sun is setting on my every day journalling series here at Life with Cait. At least for a little while.

As I write this, it’s 5:00 pm and I’m sitting on my back patio, where I’ve been since about 11 this morning. I’m wearing Underarmor leggings and a Poke’mon shirt with running shoes. My hair has barely been brushed and I’ve made it through eleven hours of Tome Topple – a read-a-thon where you try to read as many books over 500 pages as you can in the span of two weeks – without reading a single word.

I just finished my first set of agent-requested rewrites – and, by that, I mean that I’ve gotten through approximately 50% of the first section she shared her issues with – and it’s literally taken me all day to rewrite even this brief segment. I’m a week into a six-week R&R (revise and resubmit) session with only five weeks left and very little to show for it.

I’m not a mom. I’m not that person who is always on the go. But I am busy right now, so busy, and I don’t know how people who are a lot busier than me manage to do it. So this is me giving myself permission to stop, giving my permission to refocus, giving myself permission to strive for progress not perfection.

These next few weeks will be busy and stressful and wonderful and educational and exciting for me. I’ll try to share my successes and my failures, as well as what I’m learning in the process, with you guys whenever I have the opportunity. But, for now, I hope that you can understand that I’ll need to take a step back for a bit.

Thank you for reading and following my journey. I can’t wait to talk to you again soon.

Much love and lots of coffee,

-Caitlin

One thought on “June Truths | Day 30

  1. It’s important to know how to say “No.” You are doing a great job. I think this is a wise decision and one of self-love! Good for you!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment